Twitter

02/02/24

Year 3 had a wonderful trip yesterday in London at The National Gallery! pic.twitter.com/toTJfs4lZh

17/01/24

Our Year 4 children had a great trip today visiting a local Mosque in Morden. This linked perfectly with their RE learning. pic.twitter.com/m1eqOlI7Lq

11/01/24

Thank you to for a wonderful assembly today. The whole HJAC community were engaged in the assembly. pic.twitter.com/4DMbTSBOtM

19/12/23

The children have enjoyed a wonderful pantomime this morning courtesy of our wonderful PTA! pic.twitter.com/WpKwGjYt1t

19/12/23

We are delighted to have been able to donate lots of brand new toys to the children at Queen Mary’s Hospital at St Helier’s hospital. Thank you to all of our families who donated. pic.twitter.com/9pYipoWssl

19/12/23

Our Year 3 children enjoyed singing to the local residents at a local care home. The children all sang beautifully and there was smiles all round! pic.twitter.com/ObKYyvJ7Km

15/12/23

Thank you to all who came to celebrate the children's hard work this morning! The hall was filled with some truly wonderful projects! pic.twitter.com/1N8yzBUF5Q

13/12/23

The most beautiful setting for our Carols by Candlelight. The children sang beautifully last night and we can’t wait for Thursday nights performance! pic.twitter.com/ZUnxGhUblI

11/12/23

The children and staff enjoyed wearing their Christmas Jumpers for Christmas jumper day. We raised nearly £200 for ‘Save the Children’. The elves in school even got involved! pic.twitter.com/0QAZH9GF7G

20/11/23

Great start to Road safety week with our local police team speaking to the children about the importance of road safety. pic.twitter.com/SMYNbpzXXF

17/11/23

A fantastic PTA event at school, making Bath Bombs and selling Hot dogs and hot chocolate! What a wonderful combination. pic.twitter.com/V0Pgauv5rs

17/11/23

17/11/23

Today we are supporting Children in Need. Our children are all very happy wearing their Pudsey inspired outfits or PJs! pic.twitter.com/pwprYaED9v

03/11/23

HJAC are proud to be taking part in ‘Cut Your Carbon’ November in partnership with Eco Schools. The children are all very excited to be involved in such a worth while event! pic.twitter.com/lFeekMIiEO

30/10/23

The children are enjoying their African Drumming workshop as part of our diversity offer at HJAC. pic.twitter.com/U8xn7eDnZJ

20/10/23

Thank you to all of the wonderful HJAC community. We are so grateful for such a wonderful support in Sutton. pic.twitter.com/a29pKBLmiY

11/10/23

Amazing showcase this morning of all of our children’s home learning projects! They are just amazing! pic.twitter.com/QZEIcpqXWi

10/10/23

Year 5 children have been enjoying their Diwali workshop creative day with crafts in the morning and learning some dances in the afternoon! pic.twitter.com/yy7v1gcRWf

09/10/23

So proud of all of the staff at HJAC who received so many nominations! pic.twitter.com/zDC3tZ83r4

06/10/23

So proud of our children and staff involved working together with We all loved seeing our children up on stage! pic.twitter.com/C6Wt8N0CX9

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Stratford

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

Willesden

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Paper copies of any information on the website will be given free of charge if requested by a parent. Our full charging and remissions policy can be found further down the page.

Harris Junior Academy Carshalton provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

 

 


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Head of Academy, Mrs Georgina Barnes.

Please contact her via the school office

Miss Hayley Stevenson
E-mail: H.Stevenson@harrisjuniorcarshalton.org.uk
Telephone: 0208 647 7324

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors

Mrs Sherry Wood c/o Harris Junior Academy Carshalton, Camden Road, Carshalton, SM5 2NS
Telephone: 0208 647 7324

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notice below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

back_to_keyinfo