Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

05/06/20

https://t.co/1uPw0ojkWi The Royals Museums Greenwich have a range of family activities to do at home, including work based around maritime history, geography and space!

04/06/20

HJAC staff have been learning new skills over lockdown 🎶🥁👨‍🎨🕺🍃 🍪Check them out! We’d love to hear what new hobbies or activities you’ve been up to - share them on twitter or send photos to reception! 😊 https://t.co/efTh0YUKPF

04/06/20

https://t.co/LUev8wMVVY Tate Kids has lots of games, activities, art-based facts on the website, which children can access at home including TATE PAINT where you can create your own masterpiece!

03/06/20

Hurray! 👏👏👏 Someone in our local community has nominated our school as part of our local MP’s ‘Unsung Heroes!’ initiative. Thank you ☺️. We are so pleased to be awarded this and are grateful to everyone who gives us such positive feedback! Thank you 🙏 https://t.co/I8AHL4IKws

03/06/20

5th June is World Environment Day https://t.co/Rytfza8W6L has a range of crafts, games and activities linked to this event.

02/06/20

https://t.co/WGJ9S37laD Learn more about Vikings at home on the Jorvik website. We might be stuck at home but you can still enjoy these activities, downloads, videos and audio recordings about Viking life and culture!

22/05/20

I wonder what put such big smiles on the faces of the staff and pupils at HJAC today...A huge thank you for this delicious delivery today from the Jeganathans! 😋🍕#hjac https://t.co/lxeFvcZy42

22/05/20

https://t.co/SCOtMbCWHy The Roald Dahl Museum have put everything Roald Dahl related they can think of that might help distract you, entertain you or just cheer you up onto their Things to do Indoors page.

22/05/20

Many of our pupils have enjoyed some increased game time while being at home. Here is what families should know about https://t.co/d0MV2WkzqE

21/05/20

Today’s the day world record breakers!! 6 hours till we can take part in something fun and amazing. Don’t forget to sign up and share your amazing drawings with us 😊 https://t.co/Hyw9fyO9Xg

20/05/20

1 day left and feeling excited! Who’s going to help Rob Biddulph break a world record?!! https://t.co/jj1GyDmKjg https://t.co/qiY59fVIKu

20/05/20

https://t.co/pYJKHW6yf6 Thank you to all our wonderful pupils for sending in their clips to make this video happen. The staff have definitely loved seeing you all! We hope you enjoy it too!

20/05/20

https://t.co/JL04Rb6FsD London Transport Museum have an activities page for home learning, including crafts, quizzes and games to play, as well as STEM-inspired videos, downloadable learning resources and help guides.

19/05/20

Who wants to help break a world record? WE DO!!! Let’s join the famous illustrator, Rob Biddulph, and draw live with him this Thursday to raise money and break a Guinness World Record! Visit here to sign up https://t.co/4KZCfc68uG and check out our video! https://t.co/YgLhZ6XdBu

18/05/20

Check out what our children have been up to at HJAC! 💕 https://t.co/mBz0nBMKKK

18/05/20

https://t.co/AouBA5tT37 Pottermore have created the Harry Potter at Home sections with fun articles, quizzes, puzzles and plenty more for first-time readers, as well as those already familiar with the wizarding world.

15/05/20

Check out Mr Robertson’s message to parents and children. Have a great weekend!☀️ https://t.co/EBWDkpWP97

15/05/20

https://t.co/P5I9z4leeK The Museum of London have some interactive and fun games and activities for families to enjoy at home. A great resource!

14/05/20

https://t.co/3RkkgMMYp9 Chess in Schools and Communities is offering all UK primary school children 3-month gold memberships of ChessKid free up until July 20, 2020. It is an online chess learning and playing zone designed for ages 5-11.

13/05/20

Many of our children enjoy playing below are 's Top Tips for keeping your family safe https://t.co/zbpm3fDdPR

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Paper copies of any information on the website will be given free of charge if requested by a parent. Our full charging and remissions policy can be found further down the page.

Harris Junior Academy Carshalton provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

 

 


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Principal, Ms Aliki Constantapoulou at the Academy

Please contact her via the school office

Miss Hayley Stevenson
E-mail: H.Stevenson@harrisjuniorcarshalton.org.uk
Telephone: 0208 647 7324

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors

Ms Koyeli Solanki  c/o Harris Junior Academy Carshalton, Camden Road, Carshalton, SM5 2NS
Telephone: 0208 647 7324

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notice below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

back_to_keyinfo